Side Notes

Built with ❤️ by Joe Rodgers

Mining

Still not convinced my GTX960 is going to change the world but it’s still cool to see it cranking on algorithms.

 

Nice hash is by far the easiest way to get mining on your own PC but it has some drawbacks that I’m learning about. For one, you can’t withdraw your earnings until you reach a minimum contribution. For me, I will have to mine until late spring in order to make a withdrawal to my personal BTC wallet.

 

I’ve been researching ETH components for a personal rig but I am scared of this thing called POS, not piece of shit but Proof of Stake. This means average crypto miners will not be able to participate in ETH mining. I am trying to understand when this will happen and if an ETH rig can be repurposed for other coins.

 

There’s so much to know.

 

I got a couples wallets installed last weekend which was a long task and I’m waiting on a commission check to go to Microcenter to buy components for a rig.

 

I’ll keep you posted.

 

Also, here is a screengrab from Nice Hash. It is such a “cute” interface.